A 5'3 Perspective

My New Year’s Resolutions

1 Comment

I know it has been months since we rang in the New Year, but 2011 has been without a doubt the busiest year of my life.  I was completely swamped with school work, extra-curricular activities, and not to mention the two part time jobs I have held. Four months later things are quite different and I seem to have acquired a fair bit of spare time. This free time has given me the opportunity to think about doing things for me, three resolutions to be exact.

Resolution #1: Start jogging outside at least three times a week.

My father is an avid runner who has completed more than a handful of marathons in “Boston Qualifying” times. I always assumed that because he was a good running, I would be as well. Genetics right? Boy was I wrong. This year I want to learn to enjoy running and I figure the best way to do that is to push myself (mind you a new pair of running shoes wouldn’t hurt either – did I mention I’m a shopaholic). I’ve got my iPod charged and my route planned no excuses! I’m going out tonight – and I don’t mean to the bar! There might be 5 Ks but this 1 L is going to kick their butts (cheesy, but true)!

Resolution #2: Relax and unwind.

Initially I had planned to use the hot tub after every run I completed, but why stop there. I am going to start taking some time for myself, nothing flashy or wild, just a few nights off to read, browse the net, learn new things, who knows. This might seem easy, but for me it has become hard to let myself unwind. I seem to always be on the go! Anyone have any good book recommendations?

Resolution #3: Start a blog.

Here I am, writing my first blog entry, so I guess this resolution is off to a good start. I’ve always wanted to dabble in the blogging world but I have been way too scared to get my feet wet. Now it is time to dive in! I love to read blogs and I am always extremely impressed with the content and voice people have. I believe that starting my own blog will enable me to develop as a person and allow me to share some of my thoughts and experiences with others. Let’s just hope I can stick with this one!

Author: ellepottsie

I'm a five foot three recent commerce graduate and marketing enthusiast. Recently I've noticed that life is a little different when you're closer to the ground, but maybe that is just my perspective!

One thought on “My New Year’s Resolutions

  1. I feel like your shopaholic tendencies deserve their own series of blog posts. I’m just saying. (I’m so proud of you for starting a blog! Yay!)

Leave a Reply

