A 5'3 Perspective

And So It Begins

2 Comments

I cannot explain how thankful I am that Day 1 of my organizing challenge only dealt with one drawer. I was beyond unprepared for what I was about to encounter.The before pictures are a bit embarrassing to be honest. Don’t judge until you have seen the final product!

BeforeThis was overwhelming to say the least! I usually just throw things into the draw and try to avoid noticing the mounds of who knows what piling up. I decided the best way to tackle this project was to empty everything and then decide what to keep and what to get rid of.

So here it is, the empty drawer. I am as shocked as you are to see the bottom!

This empty drawer is a little deceiving though. I took a step back so that you could get a true sense of the mess I had created. I should be honest with you though, I took this picture after I got rid of the trash pile which contained coupons that expired in 2007. Yikes.

At this point the mess seemed manageable, but I am not the only one that uses this drawer so I knew that if I wanted it to stay organized I would need to get a few baskets and containers. This proved to be quite a feat since many of the home store had closed already. I was able to find two small woven baskets at Urban Barn for $8 each, and one small bowl from the dollar store (you will see these in the final pictures).

So here it is… Are you ready?

After

So there you have it! Day 1 complete. This one drawer took me many hours to finish, but it was incredibly rewarding. Today’s challenge is going to be more difficult. I am scared to look in the back of our pantry. I think there are some cans in there that moved with us five years ago. Uh oh!

 

 

Author: ellepottsie

I'm a five foot three recent commerce graduate and marketing enthusiast. Recently I've noticed that life is a little different when you're closer to the ground, but maybe that is just my perspective!

2 thoughts on “And So It Begins

  1. well done! how very rewarding, even for those of us who are just looking at the photos 🙂 trhe time you spent organizing this drawer will be made up in time you won’t be spending looking for “whatever”, convinced that you know it is “somewhere” in there …

  2. Those were my exact thoughts!! You would not believe some of the “whatevers” I found in there… I counted over 150 of those plastic milk ties, who knows why we kept those!

Leave a Reply

