A 5'3 Perspective

What’s For Dinner?

6 Comments

As you may or may not know, I have become a bit of a foodie over the past few years [probably because of my boyfriend], so I thought I’d share one of my favourite, healthy dinners. You probably haven’t seen this dish often, but it is beyond delicious. I think I could eat some variation of this every night!

So here you have it [drum roll please]… Zucchini Pasta!

Yes that is correct, zucchini made into noodles! Now this dish does require some effort and an interesting gadget, but it only takes about half an hour from start to finish. First, you have to get yourself one of these nifty “spiral vegetable slicers”… You can find them online for about $40 bucks, [check out this site: http://www.rawnutrition.ca/html/spiral_slicer.html ] or do a Google search – if you have any patience, this is the best way to buy. I couldn’t wait to try it so I bought one at Ma Cuisine in Ottawa for $80, although it was double the price, I still think it is worth it.

Here is what I use:

Step one… Figure out how to use this tool. The English instructions were extremely brief so I just decided to wing it. With this tool, you will have to cut your zucchini in half, or maybe even into thirds depending on the side. Try to choose the straightest zucchini you can and make sure you wash them well because you will be eating the skin too. You can see what it looks like in the picture below, but I’ll try to explain. Basically, there are some pieces of plastic that protrude from the top of the handle and there is one metal spike just in front of the blade. You have to fit your zucchini pieces in there lengthwise. Once you’ve done that all you have to do is spin… and spin…. and spin… and spin…. oh and then spin again. This part kind of takes a while, but I promise it is worth it.

You’ll end up with something like this:

 

When I am cooking for two I usually use five zucchinis. Yes, five – once you heat the noodles and get rid of all the water, they shrink down to about half the amount. Plus, what is better than extra veggies? We could all use another helping of delicious greens!

Use a frying pan and cook them at medium – high on the stove top. I don’t add anything to the pan, I find the moisture in the zucchini is enough to make sure they don’t stick. The cooking process only takes about 15 minutes, it is really just to heat them and get rid of some of the water. During this time you can make your sauce!

I used fresh spicy tomato sauce from my favourite Ottawa grocer, La Bottega and added extra lean ground turkey, onion and bok choy. You can really use whatever you like though.

   Now all you have to do is drain the “noodles” in a strainer to get rid of any remaining moisture. I usually press down on them with something heavy, or just a spatula and some brute force… kidding… kind of.

Serve and enjoy!

It is hard to see the noodles under my excessive pile of sauce but they are delicious! If you are trying to incorporate more veggies into your meals, this is a great option. You really feel like you’re eat spaghetti.

You don’t have to use zucchini, try it out with other veggies! I am so happy I bought this crazy contraption – I highly recommend it!

Author: ellepottsie

I'm a five foot three recent commerce graduate and marketing enthusiast. Recently I've noticed that life is a little different when you're closer to the ground, but maybe that is just my perspective!

6 thoughts on “What’s For Dinner?

  1. An interesting variation on a pasta dinner…We use a lot of zucchini in homemade soup, which I like to puree before serving. This sounds delicious. Have you and Neal ever tried microwaving half of a spaghetti squash. When it has softened you scoop out the squash and serve it with your favourite sauce toppings..It is an excellent healthy replacement too for those pasta calories.

  2. Yes before I had this tool I used to have a lot of spaghetti squash! I have to say I prefer the taste of zucchini though 🙂 Maybe I’ll bring it over sometime and you can try it! You don’t have to cook it right away.

  3. This looks great! I always use spaghetti squash instead of pasta noodles, but now I’ll have to try zucchini!

  4. I was inspired by your post, and wanted to try it, but didn’t have one of those fancy zucchini pasta things, so I just grated them with a cheese grater. It actually turned out remarkably noodle-like, and sooo good! Never would have thought of using zucchini. Thanks, chiquita!

    • Oh that sounds lovely!! I think I might use a veggie peeler to try linguine noodles next if a grater works! I’ll post my black bean brownie recipe next for you to try 🙂 I love making dishes out of unexpected ingredients lately!

  5. Pingback: Meatless Monday: Gluten and Dairy Free Mac & Cheese! | A 5'3 Perspective

Leave a Reply

