A 5'3 Perspective

Hope In A Jar Product

1 Comment

As promised, today I am reviewing philosophy’s Hope In A Jar.

My container of Hope In A Jar - 60ml size

I bought this facial moisturizer after reading numerous rave reviews in magazines. Unfortunately, I do not share the same enthusiasm for this product. I must admit, I had very high hopes but I was immediately turned off by the design of the container. To me, facial moisturizers should not come in a pot, they should be pumped out. I dislike putting my fingers in the jar because I feel like bacteria will start to get into my product – and then on to my face. If philosophy changed the container to something that was dispensed, I would likely have a much more favourable review.

My advice to you; use this product sparingly – if you buy it – the whipped, milky lotion does not absorb well into my skin. I have very dry skin and I find if I put too much on my face looks greasy, but when I only use a little bit I am left with dry patches. The scent is anything but pleasant – I can’t even describe it. Luckily the foul odor seems to vanish once it is absorbed.

Texture of the product.

I wish I could agree with the masses and tell you that I loved this product and will never buy anything else – but truthfully, I probably won’t buy it ever again. I have had this container longer than I am willing to publicly admit and I am only just passing the half way mark. I try to use it consistently to see if prolonged use will have positive effects on my skin but I have not noticed any difference yet [except for a few extra breakouts – probably from my fingers and germs being put into the jar].

With that being said I do not recommend this product if you have dry skin, it is much too greasy and does not absorb enough to smooth my patches of dryness. Feel free to check out the reviews on the Sephora site to see what others have to say. I am just telling you my opinion – which is to find a better product for the price. I have yet to find a go to moisturizer; I was really hoping that Hope In A Jar would be it… and so the search continues.

I’ve got a fun nail tutorial for tomorrow. Here is a preview of stage one – feel free to follow along and paint your nails an opaque colour tonight so they are good and dry to finish tomorrow. You’ll need tape and another colour that will complement whichever base colour you choose. I used American Apparel’s L’Esprit for my base.

Stage One - American Apparel L'Esprit

Author: ellepottsie

I'm a five foot three recent commerce graduate and marketing enthusiast. Recently I've noticed that life is a little different when you're closer to the ground, but maybe that is just my perspective!

One thought on “Hope In A Jar Product

  1. Pingback: DDF Blemish Foaming Cleanser Product Review | A 5'3 Perspective

Leave a Reply

