A 5'3 Perspective

The Best Ginger Cookies [and they are easy to make]

2 Comments

My office is having a cookie swap next week! I am so excited, I love to bake cookies. I figured I should test out a few recipes before making my decision on what to bring in to share. And yes, I know this is a complete contradiction to my healthy recipe earlier this week.

Last night I made the easiest ginger cookies. They are big and soft and taste great, but the best part is that you can literally make them in 10 minutes [plus 10 minutes of baking] – now that is my kind of cookie!

I promise you can’t go wrong with this recipe, so here it is:

Big, Soft, Delicious Ginger Cookies

Recipe from: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/big-soft-ginger-cookies/

What you will need:

I like recipes with fewer than 15 ingredients. Anything more than that and I am starting to worry.

  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons ground ginger
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup margarine, softened
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tablespoon water
  • 1/4 cup molasses
  • 2 tablespoons white sugar

 

 

What to do:

Step 1

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Step 2

Cream together the margarine and sugar. I use a mixer to do this. It should look like the picture below – you can see the mixer attachment in the left corner.

The first step to making a perfect cookie!

Step 3

Add the egg and beat it into the creamed margarine and sugar. Next add the molasses. This is my favourite part because it looks cool – I’m easy to please.

So pretty! Hahaha!

Step 4

Add the rest of the ingredients with the exception of the last 2 tablespoons of sugar and mix well. It should look something like this. Don’t worry if the consistency is a bit runny, you want it to stick together enough to form some resemblance of balls on the baking sheet but you shouldn’t be able to roll them in your hands. I usually just use my hands to plop the mixture on the baking sheet.

Ready to be made into delicious cookies!

Step 5

Separate the mixture into 24 blobs on your cookie sheet. It will look like this. Then add the left over sugar on top of the uncooked cookies. Don’t make the cookies too big because they will grow when you bake them.

Waiting to be put in the oven!

Step 6

Bake for 8 – 11 minutes of until the edges become slightly darker. Remove from the oven and let cool for 5 minutes… if you are able to wait that long – they smell amazing!

The cooling period.

And there you have it, delicious easy ginger cookies… and did I mention they are dairy free! Store the cookies in an air tight container, although they will probably get eaten very quickly!

Enjoy!

Big, Soft, Delicious Ginger Cookies

Author: ellepottsie

I'm a five foot three recent commerce graduate and marketing enthusiast. Recently I've noticed that life is a little different when you're closer to the ground, but maybe that is just my perspective!

2 thoughts on “The Best Ginger Cookies [and they are easy to make]

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Chunk and Almond Butter Cookies [with a healthy twist - dairy and gluten free] | A 5'3 Perspective

  2. Pingback: Chocolate Chunk and Almond Butter Cookies [with a healthy twist - dairy and gluten free]

Leave a Reply

