A 5'3 Perspective

Thrifty Thursday [my new favourite gym shirt]

Leave a comment

Don’t get me wrong, I love lululemon. But sometimes [more often than not], I feel guilty spending so much money on something I will destroy with sweat every time I wear it. Yes – I am that girl at the gym and you’re welcome for the visual I just gave you [ha!]. But seriously, when did working out become a fashion show? You can’t throw on an old tee and a pair of shorts and call it a day – unless you like getting the stare down. So here is my predicament – how do I stay stylish without spending half my weekly pay? The answer – an old oversized t-shirt. But wait, didn’t I just tell you that they were a gym faux pas? Not if you can create something awesome with them – so here it is, my new favourite gym shirt!

Hi – I’m awkward!

This is actually so easy to make, it took me no more than 10 minutes. If I can do it, so can you – plus, you’ll give an old t-shirt a new life [wow that was really cheesy].

What you will need:

An old t shirt – I used a men’s small, but it was a large men’s small.

A pair of scissors.

What you have to do:

Step One: Cut off the arms, collar and bottom of the shirt. Make sure you save the collar piece you cut off of the shirt, you will need it later. I tried to explain this using paint – cut along the dotted lines I drew. I suck at paint – don’t judge, I just don’t have steady hands.

Cut through both the front and back sides of the shirt in the first step.

Step Two: Cut a V shape into the neck of the back panel of the t-shirt. Make sure you only cut through one layer this time. This is where you can decide how thin or thick you want the shoulder straps to be. Follow the dotted lines on the picture below. The solid lines are meant to show where you have already cut.

Step Three: Take the piece of material that you cut off from the collar of the shirt and make a cut to create one long piece of fabric instead of a circle. Tie this piece to itself around the top of the V that you cut in the back of the shirt. Now you can wrap the collar piece around the fabric below the V to create a racer back style. Once you have used up all of the collar material – or you have a long enough racer back, tie the collar piece to itself to secure it. If you wrap it too far down the back of the shirt the bottom will bunch up. This is really the only tricky part. Cut off any excess from the collar piece [if you don’t use it all]. You should end up with something that looks like this:

First I tied the fabric at the top then I worked my way down to the bottom.

Finished view from the back.

Step 4: Try it on and enjoy!

Success – now go workout!

There you have it, a free workout shirt – that I can pair with my lululemon bottoms… I can’t help it, they are amazing!

Author: ellepottsie

I'm a five foot three recent commerce graduate and marketing enthusiast. Recently I've noticed that life is a little different when you're closer to the ground, but maybe that is just my perspective!

Leave a Reply

