A 5'3 Perspective

My Take on the Green Smoothie

1 Comment

If you’ve spent any time browsing health related articles online or in magazines, you’ve probably heard all about the green smoothie. From what I can tell, it’s name comes from the greens that are often used as a main ingredient – so clever! I’ve tried a few recipes I stumbled across online, but my favourite is the blend I made myself. Care to try?

The Ellepottsie Green Smoothie

I know it doesn’t look very green but it is!

Ingredients

1 scoop of protein powder (I usually use vanilla)

1 tbsp chia seeds

3/4 cup water (you may need to add more if your blender isn’t very strong)

1/8 tsp xanthan gum (can be omitted but it gives the smooth a nice consistency)

1.5 cups of spinach or kale (or combination of both)

1 cup frozen berries

I used strawberry protein in this mix, that’s why it looks pink.

What to do

Combine the first 4 ingredients (water, protein powder, chia seeds, and xanthan gum) and shake really well so everything is combined. Next add the greens and berries and blend until smooth. I find it usually takes about a minute, maybe slightly longer if I use only kale and include the kale stems.

If it doesn’t blend well, you probably need to add a bit more liquid.

And there you have it, a green [not so green] smoothie! This is one of my favourite post workout meals, or breakfasts – if I’m running late!

Author: ellepottsie

I'm a five foot three recent commerce graduate and marketing enthusiast. Recently I've noticed that life is a little different when you're closer to the ground, but maybe that is just my perspective!

One thought on “My Take on the Green Smoothie

  1. Pingback: Quick Delicious Shake « Poli's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

