A 5'3 Perspective

Rainy Day Half-Moon Nail Tutorial

2 Comments

Something about the start of fall makes me crave rich and regal nail colours. Although you could follow this nail tutorial with any polish your heart desires, I chose a deep red [Sephora by OPI – Mr. Right Now] and my favourite gold [Quo by Orly – Filthy Rich] which you’ve seen before in my Easter nail tutorial.

Here is what you will need:

OPI Nail Envy Matte, Quo by Orly Filthy Rich, 3 ring binder reinforcements, Sephora by OPI Mr. Right Now, and essie good to go rapid dry top coat.

First you should prime your nails with a base coat. I use OPI Nail Envy [you can read my review here] because it helps strengthen my nails – and when you paint them as much as I do, they start to become weak.

Next paint your entire nail in the colour you want your half-moons to be – I chose gold.

Quo by Orly Filthy Rich

Make sure you allow this coat to dry completely. I use essie good to go [my favourite quick drying top coat – check out the review here, it is a life changer] to speed up the process – because I have absolutely NO patience.

Once you are sure the polish is dry, use binder reinforcements to cover the bottom part of your nail. It should look like this.

It is best to stick the reinforcements to your hand first so they lose a bit of their adhesion. This way you reduce the risk of ruining your base colour.

Now it’s time to move quickly. Paint one nail at a time with the deep red. Once you have painted the entire top part of your nail, remove the sticker immediately. This is so important – do not wait until it dries or it will not come off easily and your lines will not be clean. Make sure to tackle ONE nail at a time, don’t paint your entire hand and then try to remove the stickers.

Make sure to paint a thick enough coat of red to cover the gold as you will not be using two coats of polish.

Complete all of your nails in the same fashion and seal with a top coat – obviously my top coat of choice is essie good to go, but use whatever works best for you!

You should end up with something that looks like this:

Sephora by OPI Mr. Right Now and Quo by Orly Filthy Rich half-moons.

If you aren’t sold on the colour – here are two more options to consider.

OPI Schnapps Out of It with Quo by Orly Filthy Rich

Sephora by OPI Leotard Optional with Sephora by OPI and Betsey Johnson It’s My Pink

 

The possibilities are endless though – my next half-moon mani will probably be a dark green [think essie Stylenomics – which I am still trying to find in Ottawa] with a lighter green half-moon.

Try it out and send me the pictures. I’d love to see the colour combinations you choose!

Stay dry and have a great day!

Author: ellepottsie

I'm a five foot three recent commerce graduate and marketing enthusiast. Recently I've noticed that life is a little different when you're closer to the ground, but maybe that is just my perspective!

2 thoughts on “Rainy Day Half-Moon Nail Tutorial

  1. Pingback: Manicure Monday | A 5'3 Perspective

  2. Pingback: Manicure Monday: A Manicure Party and Polish You Pretty Nail Art Book Review | A 5'3 Perspective

Leave a Reply

