A 5'3 Perspective

Product Review: Bumble and bumble Thickening Serum

Leave a comment

Let me preface this post by saying that I really wanted to love this product.

I am always on the quest to find ways to get bigger hair since my locks are fine, flat, and sparse. I have tried many products promising to add volume and thickness to your limp strands, but in the end I’m always left disappointed.

I had read many positive reviews about Bumble and bumble Thickening Serum – I mean common on, it has REALLY written right on the product, it must work. At over $30 for a 1.7oz bottle, I was expecting big [literally] things.

Suggested use is one to two times daily depending on how thin your hair is to begin with.

I decided that I would only use the serum once a day, to be honest, I wanted to make it last. Maybe this wasn’t the best call since I do have very fine hair. The serum itself is extremely liquid – I find it hard to get it from your hands to your hair without losing all of the product. I tried to take a picture of the serum in my hand but I could barely keep it in my palm.

The serum is yellow. Not the nicest colour… Can you even see it?

Despite the texture [or lack of] of the serum, I managed to massage two to three pumps into my scalp almost daily for 4 months. I’ll let you be the judge of the results. I must also mention that my scalp feels more dry and itchy than ever since using the thickening serum regularly. So here it is – the big reveal!

This could also be an exercise is photography and lighting. Pardon the after shot – it was an early morning!

Honestly, I don’t see much of a difference. The only noticeable change between the two photos is the front of my hair – which I had styled in the before photo so it wouldn’t stick up. The after photo is what my hair looks like when it air dries.

I really wanted to love this product – but the lack of change in my hair over 4 months makes it impossible. I’m sorry Bumble and bumble – I wish I had better news – I don’t recommend the thickening serum at all. Over a 4 months period I noticed no difference at all in the look or texture of my locks – and to top it off I now have a dry and itchy scalp.

My advice for those of you who share the same flat hair troubles that I do. Learn to love sleek hair styles – you’ll be a lot happier with your mane.

Author: ellepottsie

I'm a five foot three recent commerce graduate and marketing enthusiast. Recently I've noticed that life is a little different when you're closer to the ground, but maybe that is just my perspective!

Leave a Reply

