A 5'3 Perspective

Manicure Monday – Illamasqua Rubber Finish Review

1 Comment

If you saw my post on Friday you probably guessed that I went out and bought a few products on my lust list. You’re right, I was dying to try the Illamasqua Rubber Finish Nail Varnish. After much deliberation, I chose devotee – a limited edition candy pink – not my typical colour palate!

Illamasqua has made quite a splash in the beauty industry, launched in November 2008, it has already become a cult [Bristish] Beauty Brand. The brand has an amazing personality – to be honest, the tagline “make-up for your alter ego” had me sold! Illamasqua defines it’s heritage as:

“…the product of a heady mix of influences. Its roots stem from the dark and illicit 1920s club scene, and combine a rich heritage in the manufacture of make-up for film and theatre. It also takes inspiration from members of the ‘alternative scenes’ for whom self-expression is paramount. Alternative cultures have always dared to be dramatic. They have an emotional attachment to making up. It’s an expression of their darker side, a release for their alter ego.

Illamasqua is for the bolder person hiding inside all of us. It is an act and an attitude. A symbol of tolerance. A celebration of idiosyncrasies. A confident statement of self-ownership.”

http://www.illamasqua.com/

If you visit the Illamasqua website, you will be overwhelmed by all there is to see – there are tutorials, how tos, product reviews, picture galleries – and that just scratches the surface. I love that the brand puts so much effort into pleasing their customers. Before even opening the lovely package – I was already feeling quite positive about the product.

Illamasqua Rubber Finish Nail Varnish in Devotee

First glimpse of the polish out of the box! I love that they use a product insert to talk about the brand!

After a coat of matte nail envy to prime my nail, I was ready to test the polish. The formula was great – it went on very smooth and surprisingly dried very quickly, even though I painted thick layers. After two coats, here are the results.

Loving the colour!

I wanted to get a close up of my nails to try to show you the texture of the polish. It does have a rubbery feel and its seems more resistant than generic polish to chips and nicks – mind you, I have only had it on for a day – but so far so good! The finish is matte and would probably look better with a third coat but I still love the look and feel with only two. The colour is so vibrant – it looks exactly the same on your nails as it does in the bottle! I didn’t use a top coat because I wanted to see how the polish will hold up without it – and I really liked the matte finish.

Close up – pardon the awful cuticles.

Verdict is in. I love Illamasqua Rubber Finish Nail Varnish and I will absolutely be buying more – the rich colours are great! I highly recommend this polish – it is just different enough to keep things exciting!

Author: ellepottsie

I'm a five foot three recent commerce graduate and marketing enthusiast. Recently I've noticed that life is a little different when you're closer to the ground, but maybe that is just my perspective!

One thought on “Manicure Monday – Illamasqua Rubber Finish Review

  1. Pingback: Manicure Monday [plus a trick for removing stubborn polish] | A 5'3 Perspective

Leave a Reply

