A 5'3 Perspective

OPI – Mariah Carey Liquid Sand Nail Polish Review

Leave a comment

What better way to wrap up 2012 than with one last manicure Monday post! I am thrilled to share this new polish with you, not only because I just bought it, but because it is so different from any other polish I’ve ever tried.

On Boxing Day, Trade Secrets released the Mariah Carey by OPI collection. Amongst the requisite rich and shimmery swatches [in true Mariah character] I found four “liquid sand” lacquers. OPI claims that the liquid sand polish offers a never seen before matte, textured, shimmery finish. Obviously I was immediately sold.

The four liquid sand colours include: Can’t Let Go (a grape purple glitter), Get Your Number (a blue with various sizes of glitter), Stay The Night (a nearly black base with pink glitter) and The Impossible (a reddish pink base with hex and star glitter).

I think I chose the most subtle of the four – Stay The Night, but I’ll probably be back to try out a few more shades in the new year.

20121231-110706.jpg

20121231-110713.jpg

20121231-110719.jpg

20121231-110727.jpg
I really like the way the polish paints on my nails, it is thick but not tacky. I chose to use 3 coats [because I’m obsessive] but you could definitely get away with just two. As the polish warns, using a top coat will completely change the finish. I decided to follow the directions and skip it this time around. I will try again another time with a top coat just to see the difference – I know it will ruin the matte sandy finish but it might end up being interesting.

To be honest, when I first painted my nails with Stay The Night I wasn’t sold – the texture was too grainy for me and I wasn’t sure I liked the finish. After a few hours the texture softened a bit and the colour mellowed out a bit – now I’m in love! I guess good things come to those who have patience.

The entire OPI Mariah Carey collection is available at Trade Secrets. I’d love to hear your thoughts this collection!

Happy New Year friends – thanks for all your support in growing this blog to where it is today. See you in 2013, I can already tell it is going to be another great year!

Author: ellepottsie

I'm a five foot three recent commerce graduate and marketing enthusiast. Recently I've noticed that life is a little different when you're closer to the ground, but maybe that is just my perspective!

Leave a Reply

