A 5'3 Perspective

Manicure Monday [plus a trick for removing stubborn polish]

4 Comments

Hope everyone had a great weekend! When I woke up this morning I was convinced it was Sunday and I couldn’t understand why my alarm was going off at 5:30am. Surprise – it’s Monday. I managed to roll out of bed and make it to my early morning spin class – now I’m feeling a little more alive.

Anyways you know what Monday brings – manicures. Lately I have been spending my Sunday evenings painting my nails. It seems help me prepare for the week ahead – kind of soothing I guess. Plus it gives me something to do while my better half [love you] is watching football.

Last week I showed off my Mariah Carey by OPI Liquid Sand polish. What I didn’t share with you [or realize at the time] was that removal process wouldn’t be an easy one. Luckily I’ve got a lifesaving trick to remove glitter polish or any other stubborn lacquer.

Here is what you will need: tinfoil, cotton pads, scissors and remover.

Heavy duty polish remover supplies.

Heavy duty polish remover supplies.

The whole process will take you about 20 minutes, but I promise it is better than 20 minutes of scrubbing and cursing at your nails.

Step 1: Cut 10 pieces of tinfoil that are large enough to wrap around the tops of your fingers. Cut the cotton pads into 10 pieces as well. I usually use 3 large cotton pads or 5 medium sized ones. Just make sure the cotton pads will cover your entire nail.

Step 2: Saturate a pieces of cotton [almost entirely] with nail polish remover. Place the cotton pad on your nail and cover it entirely with tinfoil.

Using a piece of cotton that is larger than your nail will ensure that the removes covers the whole surface.

Using a piece of cotton that is larger than your nail will ensure that the remover covers the entire surface.

Step 3: Repeat for all 10 fingers. It gets a little challenging to wrap the each digit with tinfoil once you have finish one hand – but it is manageable with a little practice.

One hand complete.

One hand complete.

Step 4: Wait at least 15 minutes with your tinfoil covered finger tips. Relax during this time because you are basically incapacitated.

ET fingers.

ET fingers.

Step 5: Remove the foil. There will likely be a bit of polish residue in the corners of your nails. Any left over polish will have loosened up over the past 15 minutes so you should be able to remove it completely with a swipe or two of remover.

Now onto the fun part. On boxing day I bought the Illamasqua Nail Varnish Duo from Sephora which features Viridian, a shiny rich peacock green, and Glitterati, a raspberry sparkle. If you’ve read my first Illamasqua polish review, you know how much I love this brand. I have only used Viridian from this set so far but it paints like a dream – as expected. The formula is thick without being gooey and is essentially opaque after just one coat. I always do two just to make sure the finish is smooth and flawless.

Illamasqua Nail Varnish in Viridian.

Illamasqua Nail Varnish in Viridian.

I added a hint of sparkle by painting my ring finger in Quo by Orly’s Filthy Rich.

Manicure Monday

Manicure Monday

Just look at the shine, I challenge you to find another brand of polish that has such a beautiful finish.

If you’ve got a great manicure I’d love to see it-  just leave me a link to your photo in the comments!

Wishing everyone a great start to the week!

xo Lauren

Author: ellepottsie

I'm a five foot three recent commerce graduate and marketing enthusiast. Recently I've noticed that life is a little different when you're closer to the ground, but maybe that is just my perspective!

4 thoughts on “Manicure Monday [plus a trick for removing stubborn polish]

  1. Great tip for removing sparkly polish! I shall have to give it a try next time – usually I get fed up and either leave a bit of sparkle on my nails or just paint over them with a new colour! Neither option is ideal, so thanks for sharing!

  2. I like this web blog very much, Its a very nice place to read and get info . “Being powerful is like being a lady. If you have to tell people you are, you aren’t.” by Margaret Hilda Thatcher.

  3. Pingback: Manicure Monday: Revlon Moon Candy Nail Art Polish | A 5'3 Perspective

Leave a Reply

