A 5'3 Perspective

Half Marathon Training Plan

4 Comments

Last week I signed up for my first half marathon (which is now completely sold out). I am so excited to be running 21.1km with my dad – the fastest runner I know – who decided to sign up with me and cheer me along! That will definitely be a big help, however, he is away basking in the sun and playing golf for the next three months, which leaves me to train alone in the winter. YIKES. I am not a very social runner so I have decided against joining a running group and instead to prepare for this race on my own. Here is what my training schedule looks like so far.

Each week I am running two short quick runs (between 6-8km) , one long run (greater than 9km – increasing by no more than 10 percent a week), two spin classes and one core training class.

Running has never been my strong suit, but having a goal to work toward makes it more rewarding.

I also received a Polar RS300X heart rate monitor for Christmas from the best boyfriend ever!!! I had never used a heart rate monitor before but it really helps me to push myself. I never knew I could get my heart beating so fast – during my runs I average around 178 beats/minute. Is that even safe?!

Post Run

Post 9km sloppy winter run!

I am finally learning to enjoy running – even in the winter [I’m sure buying new running jackets and pants doesn’t hurt] and I am really looking forward to crossing the finish line in May! Sometimes you need to take a risk before you can appreciate the reward!

xo Lauren

PS – I just bought an awesome living social deal. If you’re into Starbucks check it out – $10 gift card for the price of $5. You can get yours here. There is no catch, I already used part of mine!

Author: ellepottsie

I'm a five foot three recent commerce graduate and marketing enthusiast. Recently I've noticed that life is a little different when you're closer to the ground, but maybe that is just my perspective!

4 thoughts on “Half Marathon Training Plan

  1. Pingback: High Five Friday #49

  2. Congratulations on signing up for your first 1/2 marathon! Can’t wait to follow your training journey!

    Kate xo petite-adventures.blogspot.ca

Leave a Reply

