A 5'3 Perspective

Friday Finds – Lululemon All Sport Heart Rate Monitor Bra Review

6 Comments

I don’t want to cut to the chase too quickly on this post, but look at the title once more. Notice anything missing? Very good – this weeks Fabulous Finds Friday is missing the first word, you’ll see why soon.

When it comes to working out, sometimes having a great outfit is motivation enough to get your butt into gear. This mantra usually leads me straight to lululemon, my favourite fitness apparel manufacturers.

After receiving a Polar RS300X Heart Rate Monitor for Christmas, I was jumping for joy when I came a tweet releasing the Lululemon All Sport Heart Rate Monitor Bra. If you use a heart rate monitor you can probably relate. Imagine not having to wear that annoying chest strap?! Hallelujah – the fitness gods have answered our prayers!

All Sport Heart Rate Monitor Bra - image courtesy of lululemon.com

All Sport Heart Rate Monitor Bra – image courtesy of lululemon.com

Off I went to the mall to pick up my new favourite sports bra [yes I had already made that conclusion]. Here is where I ran into my first issue – the store hadn’t received any stock yet. WHAT?! You’re telling me I have to wait to wear my favourite bra?! Patience is not my strong suit.

After a week of waiting, I eagerly found myself perusing the racks of bras (ha!) at lululemon – lo and behold, there it was.  I grabbed what I thought to be my usual size and headed for the change room. Issue number 2 – the sizing runs large. The built in heart rate monitor strap doesn’t even touch my body. How is this going to work? I probably should I have tried on a smaller size at the time, but I decided it would be best to come back another day with my heart rate monitor.

Just a few days ago, I found myself back on the hunt to own this sports bra. I packed up my HRM equipment and set out on my quest to bring this baby home. Already aware that my usually size 6 wouldn’t do the trick, I chose a 4 in a mint and black striped pattern [so awesome]. To my surprise and excitement the smaller size fit perfectly and it actually felt great. I almost took it and headed to the cash immediately – but them I remembered that I should probably do some due diligence and make sure my heart rate monitor synced properly.

Snap – one side clicks in, YES! Snap – the other side clips in… But wait? Didn’t I already clip both sides in? For some reason, when I go to snap my heart rate receiver into the built in clips, it doesn’t fit, I can only keep one side in place at a time. WHAT?! So I peek my head out of the change room in despair looking to try another one – thinking “this one is probably just defective”. Three more size 4 bras appear at my change room, and NONE of them work. I even tried snapping the receiver on while the bra was on the hanger, thinking that maybe I was attempting to fit into a size that was too small causing the chest band to stretch too much.

I wanted to love this sports bra. It is one of the greatest fitness inventions of the decade. Lulu, help me out here – this bra is a piece, and I am utterly disappointed. Please fix it – I’ll buy one in every colour, but until then you better believe I am upset.

So as I gear up for my long run tomorrow, I’ll be disappointed putting on my Polar Chest Strap – but happy to have something that works.

Happy Friday and have a wonderful weekend!

xo Lauren

PS – If you’re looking for something fun to do tonight check out The Museum of Nature’s first ever Nature Nocturne event! Drinking with the dinos, you better believe I’ll be there – come say hi!

Author: ellepottsie

I'm a five foot three recent commerce graduate and marketing enthusiast. Recently I've noticed that life is a little different when you're closer to the ground, but maybe that is just my perspective!

6 thoughts on “Friday Finds – Lululemon All Sport Heart Rate Monitor Bra Review

  1. That’s so disappointing! Especially somewhere like Lululemon, you’d think that kind of stuff would be figured out before the stock hit the floor. 😦 Oh well, better luck next time I guess!

  2. That’s so disappointing to hear that it didn’t work out – but not surprising, I’ve always had trouble with Lulus sports bras (either they don’t fit properly, are too hard to get out of after working out, or they just don’t do what they’re supposed to). I hope they can fix this one up quick!

    Kate xo petite-adventures.blogspot.ca

    • I feel you girl, I always end up buying a size up because I feel suffocated trying to get it off – but then when I am working out the bra doesn’t really do much. Because this bra had the built in sensor strap I was forced to get the right size and it actually felt pretty good – too bad the essential element was a complete flop.

  3. This is a seriously high tech sports bra!! Disappointing it didn’t work out!

  4. Pingback: Fabulous Finds Friday – The Selfish Edition « A 5'3 Perspective

Leave a Reply

