A 5'3 Perspective

Fabulous Finds Friday: The Half Marathon Edition

2 Comments

Up until this year, I have never put so much thought into workout gear. I used to choose my sneaker based on colour and my clothing based on looks, but when you’re hitting the pavement at least three times a week and racking up the miles (I’ve already ran 176km since the beginning of the year), fit and function start to take precedent. Today I want to share with you some of my favourite fitness products that help make my runs easier.

Fabulous Finds Friday Fitness1. Double Layer Running Room socks – If you are an avid runner, walker, or stepper, you NEED these. Say goodbye to blisters because the double layer technology works great to prevent blisters and absorb sweat. The two layer rub against each other instead of your foot so you don’t feel any pain. I cannot get enough of these – once you switch you’ll never go back.

2. Lululemon Run: Bundle Up Jacket – When you are training through the Winter, finding clothing that keeps you warm but breathable is a challenge. This jacket has a detachable hood and front so you can wear it on really cold days and slightly warmer ones. Even after long runs I can guarantee that this coat won’t ride up. Although it isn’t exactly waterproof, I have had no issues running in serious snow storms while wearing it – though I wouldn’t recommend using it for rainy runs. My only issue with this jacket is that the sleeves are seriously long but it is really easy to roll them up. Oh and it is on sale for $129.

3. Polar RS300X Heart Rate Monitor – I don’t think you can really appreciate how incredible this little device is until you use it. After a few hints to Neil, I received the Polar RS300X for Christmas. I love knowing how hard I am working and how quickly my body can recover – it helps me put my workouts into perspective. Also the stop watch feature is great for timing my runs and knowing the calorie burn of your workouts is a fun perk. I know that I am not even scratching the surface on the featured that this heart rate monitor has but even still I love it and I hate working out without it.

4. Mizuno Wave Elixir 8 – As you may of may not know, I have been on a quest to find the perfect running shoe to get me through my half marathon training. Ever since I was young I have had terrible shin splints that act up any time I run. I probably got them from years of competitive figure skating and dance but they never really healed. When I got serious about running I started to notice the pain creeping back, and with a vengeance. I decided that I was going to bite the bullet and shell out some serious cash to get the perfect pair of shoes to support my body on my long runs. After trying a pair of Saucony’s, which gave me horrible blood blisters, and a pair of Ascis, which made my spins and calves feel even worse, I was happy to stumble upon a new shipment on Mizuno’s which contained the Wave Elixir 8s. These sneakers remind me of my Nike Free’s but with a little extra support, which is necessary for my pronating, low arched feet. So far I have used them on the treadmill twice (just in case I had to bring them back) and they feel great. I am so excited to take these outside when the paths dry up a bit!

What are your favourite fitness finds this year?

Happy Friday!!

xo Lauren

Author: ellepottsie

I'm a five foot three recent commerce graduate and marketing enthusiast. Recently I've noticed that life is a little different when you're closer to the ground, but maybe that is just my perspective!

2 thoughts on “Fabulous Finds Friday: The Half Marathon Edition

  1. These are great finds! What do you think about the FitBit?

    • Thanks for stopping by!! I haven’t used a Fit Bit but I have heard lots of positive reviews. In my opinion – Polar is the best in class for monitoring heart rate and calorie burn so that is why I chose to go with this particular HRM.

Leave a Reply

