A 5'3 Perspective

Ask A Beauty Blogger

1 Comment

Ask A Beauty Blogger

I am so excited to share today’s answer with you – this question was something I had always wondered myself in the past. One day I just decided to try out a few products and I was hooked. Enough teasing – here is this week’s installment of Ask A Beauty Blogger.

How to Contour

Contouring has become an essential part of my daily make-up routine, and with the right products you can give yourself a more desirable face shape in less than 5 minutes.

To ensure that your face looks natural you will need to remember one key tip; blend, blend and blend again. Make sure that there are no harsh lines or splotches.

Achieving a contoured look requires a few specific products: 1) a highlighter 2) a non shimmery bronzer and 3) blush.

Answered: How to Contour

These are the exact products I use on a daily basis.

First you will want to prime your skin so you have a smooth and even canvas to work with. For this task I use Smashbox Camera Ready BB Cream [which I reviewed in an earlier post]. Next, use an angled brush to darken the area just under your cheek bones. My favourite brush to use is the Sephora Collection pro angled blush brush #49. Suck in your cheeks [as f you are making a fish face] and fill in that area with your non shimmery bronzer. I recommend bare Minerals Warmth. Make sure you blend along the hollow area. You want the colour to be subtle but still noticeable, focusing on blending the edges and leaving the middle a bit darker. Next add your contouring colour to the sides of your nose from the tear duct to the widest part – do not use too much product and blend well. This will minimize your nose – if you already have a small nose you might want to skip this step. Using whatever is left on the brush swipe across the sides of your forehead near your hair line and your jaw line. Make sure you blend the colour from your jaw down to your neck to keep consistent colouring.

Using your highlighter – dab a small line down the middle of your nose starting just under the middle of your eyes as well as your brown bone [just under the outer half of your eyebrows]. Blend well. The highlighter will make these areas pop. My favourite product for this is High Beam by Benefit. I do not use the brush to blend, instead I find the warmth of my fingers works better.

To finish the look sweep a matte blush across the apples of your cheeks. To make sure you are applying the product in the right spot, smile and brush only on the part of your cheek that puffs up. I use bare Minerals blush in laughter [which seems to have been discontinued] and the bare Minerals Flawless Application Face brush.

Below is a a photo representation of what I described – just in case you were confused! Obviously this is a before blending description.

Contouring by ellepottsie

I cannot stress enough how important blending is in this process. It is the technique that will turn your face full of make up into a natural look. It should look as though you are not wearing anything at all. Contouring is about enhancing and minimizing features – remember that.

Hopefully these recommendations were helpful! I’d love to hear your feedback – and for sure let me know if you end up trying one of these products.

If you’d like your question answered next week, head over here to send me a request.

xo Lauren

Author: ellepottsie

I'm a five foot three recent commerce graduate and marketing enthusiast. Recently I've noticed that life is a little different when you're closer to the ground, but maybe that is just my perspective!

One thought on “Ask A Beauty Blogger

  1. Pingback: Ask A Beauty Blogger: Sharing My Everyday Makeup Routine | A 5'3 Perspective

Leave a Reply

