A 5'3 Perspective

Manicure Monday: Illamasqua Speckled Nails

3 Comments

I really wanted to love it. I feel like this is becoming my most used phrase. After purchasing scare speckled polish by Illamasqua last week, I was sure that this post wouldn’t contain that sentence. This beautiful light pink lacquer with black speckles was sure to be perfection – how could it not?

Illamasqua in Scarce

Now to be fair – I don’t HATE this polish. I am just disappointed. I’ve worn it for three days [and have already applied a touch up coat] and it won’t stop chipping. I think the speckles get caught at the end of my nails and cause the polish to look less than perfect. The colour and finish is exactly what I had hoped. It is so different from anything I’ve ever seen and I’ve been getting tonnes of compliments – that part I like! However, the formula is very slow drying and doesn’t set well, even with the use of a rapid dry top coat. Illamasqua in Scarce

Will I keep this bottle? Tough question – I absolutely love the finished product, but I cannot stand chipped nails. Since I don’t know if I can dedicate time to nightly touch ups I am having a hard time deciding what to do. Maybe my first application was a fluke and the second time I apply this polish all of the issues will be gone – doubtful, but I am trying to be optimistic.

All in all – the pastel colour and eggshell speckle is uniquely beautiful. I’ll likely keep this polish but only use it occasionally.

The entire speckle polish collection can be purchased at Sephora [in stores or online] for $18 a bottle. In my opinion the price is steep compared to the lasting power.

Do you have a great manicure today? Upload a pic and tag me (twitter or instagram) in it so I can see what you’re rocking on your nails! And don’t forget to submit your question for the weekly “Ask A Beauty Blogger” feature.

xo Lauren

Author: ellepottsie

I'm a five foot three recent commerce graduate and marketing enthusiast. Recently I've noticed that life is a little different when you're closer to the ground, but maybe that is just my perspective!

3 thoughts on “Manicure Monday: Illamasqua Speckled Nails

  1. This polish is gorgeous, but it sounds like the formula falls flat 😦 Such a shame!

    AddictedtoOPI

  2. Ah, it’s always such a bummer when a product you had high hopes in turns out to be disappointing. Still, it does look fantastic and I hope second time’s a charm when applying it though I understand your doubts.

Leave a Reply

