A 5'3 Perspective

Manicure Monday Featuring OPI When Monkeys Fly

1 Comment

Today’s manicure is seriously spring like. I just couldn’t wait any longer to break out the vibrant pastel [ish] lacquers. After buying my first polish from the OPI Oz The Great and Powerful Collection, When Monkeys Fly [a holographic sparkle mixed with large gold-brown hex glitters], I knew it was time to try something light and fun.

essie and opiwhere's my chauffeur and when monkeys fly where's my chauffeur and when monkeys fly essie and opi

For this mani I began by priming my nails with two coats of OPI matte Nail Envy [my favourite base coat], followed by two layers of essie Where’s My Chauffeur. This colour is very opaque with only two coats! Next I applied OPI When Monkeys Fly to the tips of my nails. It isn’t too difficult to pull out the larger hex pieces, just make sure you are dabbing them on instead of painting, you will get a much better result. Finally, seal the glitter in with at least 3 layers of top coat. I used essie good to go.

Most of the reviews I have seen of OPI When Monkeys Fly complain that the glitter pieces do not lie flat. In order to fix this issue you need to really layer on the top coat. I have not had an issue with the large pieces getting in the way since I used 4 coats of good to go. I also have been adding additional layers of top coat every other day [because I painted my nails last Tuesday] to keep my mani looking fresh. All in all I love the look of When Monkeys Fly and I am willing to take the extra time to ensure that the glitter lies flat. If you don’t have patience, this polish isn’t right for you – perhaps try Lights of Emerald City which contains smaller white glitter squares and has been getting rave reviews across the board.

Do you have a great manicure today? Upload a pic and tag me (twitter or instagram) in it so I can see what you’re rocking on your nails! And don’t forget to submit your question for the weekly “Ask A Beauty Blogger” feature.

xo Lauren

Author: ellepottsie

I'm a five foot three recent commerce graduate and marketing enthusiast. Recently I've noticed that life is a little different when you're closer to the ground, but maybe that is just my perspective!

One thought on “Manicure Monday Featuring OPI When Monkeys Fly

  1. beautifulllll
    also, four coats of good to go?! girl you craaaay

Leave a Reply

