A 5'3 Perspective

Manicure Monday

2 Comments

I had intended to share my birthday manicure with you last Monday, but I never got around to it [surprisingly Vegas keeps you busy ;)]. Anyways, now that my birthday celebrations have come and gone [thanks to everyone for making this year so memorable] I’ve decided just to post a picture – my nails were too adorable not to share.

ellepottsie birthdayCute right?! Anyways – moving along. My manicure today is a lot more practical and very spring like. The snow seems to be almost entirely melted which caused me to catch a mean bout of Spring fever this weekend!

I am trying to practice my free-handed manicure skills instead of using tape [mainly because it takes less time to complete] so that is why the lines aren’t as crisp as they could be.

ellepottsie

For this manicure I used eternal optimist and where’s my chauffeur [both essie polishes]. I began with two base coats of nail envy [as usual] and then two coats eternal optimist over my entire nail. This was probably a useless step, I really could have just painted the area that would be visible at the end [Neil pointed this out when I finished my manicure – boys are smart sometimes]. Next, with a steady hand and lots of patience, I formed the shape with the brush of where’s my chauffeur and then continued to fill in the remainder of my nail. It honestly wasn’t too challenging. The best advice I can give when doing any free-hand manicure is to take your time, you will always end up with a better result. Once the polish had set a bit I finished with two coats of good to go [essie]. I will add another regular top coat tonight to ensure a long lasting mani!essie spring mani

Do you have a great manicure today? Upload a pic and tag me (twitter or instagram) in it so I can see what you’re rocking on your nails! And don’t forget to submit your question for the weekly “Ask A Beauty Blogger” feature.

xo Lauren

Author: ellepottsie

I'm a five foot three recent commerce graduate and marketing enthusiast. Recently I've noticed that life is a little different when you're closer to the ground, but maybe that is just my perspective!

2 thoughts on “Manicure Monday

  1. Aw! How cute! I love getting my nails done. But now that I work at home, on the PC most of the time, I cannot go to the salon and get nails put on. I just paint them instead 🙂

    • I never get my nails ones. I am too picky about them. Plus when you do them yourself you have the colours for touch ups! Painting my nails is one of my favourite hobbies!

Leave a Reply

