A 5'3 Perspective

Manicure Monday: A Bright and Crazy Manicure

5 Comments

Despite a mid April snowstorm, I am ready for summer – and so are my nails. At the end of last week I received Polish You Pretty, a nail art how to book, in the mail to review. After leafing through the pages a few times I knew I had to try some of the designs. I will provide a full review in the near future when I get a chance to tackle a few more tutorials.

nail suppliesI used nail envy as a base coat under OPI You’re Such A Budapest, Illamasqua Devotee and Sally Hansen Black 02 nail art pen [which I is a new buy for me]. The finishing touches were essie good to go.

I will show you the steps before I reveal the finished product, just to keep you guessing!

You're Such A BudapestAfter a few layers of nail envy to strengthen my [talons] nails, I painted three coats of OPI You’re Such a Budapest. I find this polish quite sheer but very easy to build solid coverage with thin coats.

Illamasqua DevoteeNext I carefully free-handed half my nail with two coats of Illamasqua Rubber Finish in Devotee. I absolutely love the colour of this polish and it was a nice complement to the more subtle base colour.

Sally HansenUsing my [new] Sally Hansen Nail Art Pen, which is not exactly what the book recommends, I drew a line down the center of my nail. Using this pen is quite easy, however, you need to have a scrap piece of paper nearby to be able to press the tip on. I found the formula of this polish to be a bit light, I had trace of the lines a few times to fill it in completely and even still I am noticing some cracking and lighter spots. Perhaps I should have done two coats of black instead of just one.

Summer NailsFinally, using the nail art pen, I drew polka dots on the pink side and diagonal stripes on the purple side. After allowing my nails to dry for a few minutes I finished with three coats of essie good to go. After spending half an hour on this nail art manicure, I wanted to be really sure that it was dry before going to bed.ellepottsie polish you pretty

What do you think of the design? I know it is a little crazy but it is a lot of fun and the instructions were easy to follow. This was one of the more simple manicures in the book which makes me a little nervous to try some of the more complicated ones – then again, I love a challenge so bring it on!

Do you have a great manicure today? Upload a pic and tag me (twitter or instagram) in it so I can see what you’re rocking on your nails! And don’t forget to submit your question for the weekly “Ask A Beauty Blogger” feature.

xo Lauren

Author: ellepottsie

I'm a five foot three recent commerce graduate and marketing enthusiast. Recently I've noticed that life is a little different when you're closer to the ground, but maybe that is just my perspective!

5 thoughts on “Manicure Monday: A Bright and Crazy Manicure

  1. That’s awesome. I SO wish I could do that – or had the patience, haha.

  2. Lauren I love your nails. They look stunning! I think I’m going to spend some time tonight on my fingernails. xx

  3. Pingback: Black And Pink Classic Nails | Blondes Love Cupcakes

  4. Pingback: Manicure Monday: A Manicure Party and Polish You Pretty Nail Art Book Review | A 5'3 Perspective

Leave a Reply

