A 5'3 Perspective

Manicure Monday: Waterless Watercolour/Marble Nail Art Tutorial

3 Comments

Last week I came across this amazing manicure on Polish and Pearls and I knew I had to give it a try. I love the watercolour, marble look but I hate dealing with water to achieve it. This waterless version is much easier to do and a lot less messy.

You can choose any variety of colours you like to achieve this look. I used OPI French Quarter For Your Thoughts as a base and then added essie Eternal Optimist, Where’s My Chauffeur and OPI You’re Such A Butapest for the marbling.

Step 1: Prep your nail with a base coat – nail envy for me, as usual – and then paint two coats of OPI French Quarter For Your Thoughts [or whatever colour you choose to be the opaque bottom shade].

Step 2: One the base is entirely dry, add heavy dots of the colours you want to marble to one nail [ONLY]. Don’t worry about keeping things neat – you want to use quite a bit of polish. I recommend tracing around your nail with Vaseline before this step to make clean up easier. You should have dots that look like this:

watercolour maniStep 3: Moving quicky – one nail at a time, lay a sandwich bag or piece of saran wrap on top of the dotted polish. Using your other hand press down on your wet nail and smudge the dots around to ensure that the colours are starting to blend together and that your entire nail is covered. Removed the plastic bag and then repeat steps two and three on the rest of your nails, one at a time. It was tough to get a photo of this process but hopefully this one is clear enough to give you an idea of what to do – you can see the bag that has been removed from my nail.

sandwhich bag maniStep 4: Seal the watercolours in with a top coat. I used essie good to go. This step is essential because it helps to really combine all the colours. The finished product will look something like this:

mani mondayI love the way this manicure turned out and I am really excited to try it again with different colours. It is probably the easiest nail art mani I have ever done!

Do you have a great manicure today? Upload a pic and tag me (twitter or instagram) in it so I can see what you’re rocking on your nails! And don’t forget to submit your question for the weekly “Ask A Beauty Blogger” feature.

xo Lauren

Author: ellepottsie

I'm a five foot three recent commerce graduate and marketing enthusiast. Recently I've noticed that life is a little different when you're closer to the ground, but maybe that is just my perspective!

3 thoughts on “Manicure Monday: Waterless Watercolour/Marble Nail Art Tutorial

  1. Pingback: Manicure Monday: Summer Water[less] Marble Nail Art | A 5'3 Perspective

  2. Pingback: Loco About Koku: Celebrating the Launch of Koku Nail Bar in Ottawa - Ottawa Valley Moms :: Ottawa Moms, Arnprior Moms & Renfrew Moms on Parenting, Life, Love and Staying Connected

  3. Pingback: A Dainty Manicure And Revlon Nail Art Product Review | A 5'3 Perspective

Leave a Reply

