A 5'3 Perspective

Ask A Beauty Blogger

Leave a comment

Ask A Beauty Blogger

beauty on a budgetIn my opinion there are two options for you. The first is quality and timeless – fewer items but ones you’ll wear everyday. The second is quantity and trendy.

I’ll show you what I would recommend if I were the one with $85 stashed my beauty bank!

Quality and Timeless

$50 + $25 + $35 = $110

Okay so that is just a bit over budget… However, you are investing in high quality products that you won’t be able to live without. If you already have great skin – skip the BB Cream and just get the illuminator and mascara – and throw in a bottle of white polish while you’re at it, since you have a few dollars to spare.

As you know [from my review] I am very happy with Smashbox Camera Ready BB Cream – it lives up to it’s claims while being long lasting and providing sufficient coverage. And don’t forget that this product has SPF35 so you don’t have to worry about lathering your face with sunscreen!

High beam has been my go to illuminator since I began using one. It has just the right amount of simmer and can be used anywhere. I even like to use it as eyeshadow sometimes! Who doesn’t love a versatile product.

Givenchy Noir Couture has a volumizing effect that no other mascara can match. If you’re lashes are a bit sparse this is the product for you. I also reviewed it a few months ago.

These are definitely my go to beauty product when it comes to quality – I use these on a daily basis, I don’t know what I’d do without them. However, if you are looking for a bigger haul of trendy pieces, check out the second option.

Quantity and trendy$5 + $10 + $18 + $10 + $3 + $7 + $10 + $12 = $75 (use the extra to cover the taxes… or treat yourself to some chocolate)

Clearly, this option gives you a lot more bang for your buck. These drugstore products are some of my favourites, many of which are basically high end beauty dupes.

The elf eyeshadow palette combines this seasons blue and green trends, along with a neutral grey and black and a summery pink – not to mention it comes with a brush. Maybelline Falsies is always rated among the top drugstore mascara brands by beauty bloggers and celebrities. This lash enhancer helps to separate and lengthen your lashes – and it is waterproof. When it comes to nail polish essie is one of my go to brands. I find spending a bit more on lacquer is worth it because it last longer without chipping. This fun set includes most of essie’s newest spring collection [resort 2013]. Coral lip stain doesn’t seem to be going anywhere for spring and summer so instead of spending $30 on the Yves Saint Laurent tube, buy this L’Oreal dupe that will save a tonne – the formula is almost identical! While you’re at it, pick up a bold red, it will make you feel sexy for those summer date nights – I recommend Maybelline Colour Sensational Vivids in On Fire Red. One of my favourite spring/summer 2013 beauty trends is bold brows. This elf eyebrow Eyebrow Treat & Tame wand will ensure a great shape without looking like you’ve filled them in too much. Oh and it is only $3 – how can you resist tossing it into your shopping cart! Adding a shimmery bronzer to your collection will enhance your natural summer sun-kissed glow, and at $7 it is worth the investment, even if you don’t use it every day. Finally line your eyes with Maybelline’s Waterproof Line Works Eyeliner [a product I have just started to use thanks to one of my BFFs recommendations]. This liner will stay put through anything, even a day at the pool. It is easy to use – almost fool proof – just give it a shot, you won’t regret it!

After some careful thought, I would probably go for the quantity and trendy option. I love new products and these drugstore items are some of the best. $85 can buy a girl a lot of make up so have fun with it and send me some of your new looks!

Hopefully these tips are helpful! I’d love to hear your feedback – and for sure let me know if you end up trying one of these products.

If you’d like your question answered next week, head over here to send me a request.

xo Lauren

 

Author: ellepottsie

I'm a five foot three recent commerce graduate and marketing enthusiast. Recently I've noticed that life is a little different when you're closer to the ground, but maybe that is just my perspective!

Leave a Reply

