A 5'3 Perspective

Ask A Beauty Blogger: What Make-up Should I Wear To Workout?

1 Comment

Ask A Beauty BloggerThis question is a controversial one for many – I will tell you my thoughts on the matter, if you disagree – that is perfectly fine and I’d love to hear your thoughts [just be nice, please].

Ask A Beauty Blogger - Sweaty Style

There are really two polar opposite opinions on this one. I am a firm believer that looking good makes you feel good and thus wearing make-up to work out is perfectly acceptable, however, others will argue that statement. Now let me clear things up before those of you that believe a clean face is the only way to hit them gym – I do no condone wearing a full pageant-esque look to be active. In this case less is really more. If you are fortune enough to look cute [and not completely red faced] while working out without make-up on, power to you – really, I am envious. I, on the other hand, end up looking like a blotchy tomato if I do any physical activity without a bit of aesthetic assistance.

Quality and ingredients are extremely important to consider when wearing make up during a sweat session. The more natural the better – and the less likely that the product will clog your pores and cause you to break out. Below are the three [and ONLY three] products I ever use on my face during a workout:
Sweating in StyleMy advice: conceal and powder using Cover FX products. This brand has perfected a formula that is ideal for even the most sensitive skin. The ingredients are rich in antioxidants, vitamins, and essential skin emollients, yet still provide weightless full coverage. As described by Sephora.com, this brand is “everything you need and nothing you don’t—Cover FX is free of the Inflammatory 5: mineral oil, fragrance, gluten, parabens, and talc”.

My go to products to ensure an even skin colour during an intense sweat session are the cream concealer and the pressed mineral foundation. From my experience these items are the only ones that can withstand my workouts.

Now that you have a flawless canvas to work with – add a few coats of mascara to really draw attention to your eyes. Using a waterproof mascara is a good idea, however, a long lasting and good quality product will work too. I have been using YSL Babydoll lately and before that Givenchy Noir Couture. You can read my reviews on each here and here. You can skip the blush, since your cheeks will glow naturally once you get your heart pumping.

In my opinion these three products make all the difference when you are busy getting active but still want to look great. Hopefully these tips are helpful! I’d love to hear your feedback – and for sure let me know if you end up trying one of these products.

If you’d like your question answered next week, head over here to send me a request.

xo Lauren

Author: ellepottsie

I'm a five foot three recent commerce graduate and marketing enthusiast. Recently I've noticed that life is a little different when you're closer to the ground, but maybe that is just my perspective!

One thought on “Ask A Beauty Blogger: What Make-up Should I Wear To Workout?

  1. It was lovely to meet you on Sunday Lauren, your new hair colour is fab! I am a no makeup wearer to the gym although in my day to day I may wear mascara, lipstick & a bit of bronzer, I don’t wear too much regardless. At the gym, it’s au natural, bring on the red, sweaty face, I’m not there to look good (although my viewpoint might be different if I was single!) 🙂

Leave a Reply

