A 5'3 Perspective

A Week of Workouts in the Life of Ellepottsie

2 Comments

Since I started my half marathon training, many of you have asked me what a typical workout week looks like. Before I share the details – remember, everyone is different and every body requires a different amount of rest and intensity. This is a workout schedule that fits my lifestyle and leaves me feeling energized and positive. I must admit, it has taken me quite a while to find the perfect exercise/rest balance. Use my schedule as a guideline [if you wish] but listen to your body and do what feels right for yourself. And don’t forget to push yourself out of your comfort zone, that is when you achieve the best results!

Monday – 5.5km run followed by a CXWORX class.

TuesdayBody Shred class.

Wednesday – Active rest day: baseball.

Thursday – 55 minutes road drills spin class.

Friday – 5km run [before work].

Saturday – Rest!

Sunday – Long run, ranging from 10km – 21km depending on upcoming races.

Since I have completed my half marathon training, I now plan to add some more weight training back into my routine. I found it difficult to get “good” runs in when I was lifting heavy weights. Now my focus is to bring more balance into my workouts. I will probably add some weights after my spin class on Thursday or after work on Friday. I’ll just have to test both out and see how I feel.

In addition to the above workouts, I bike to and from work (6km both ways) on weekdays and I also complete the following quick exercises daily:

10 tricep pushups

10 pushups

1 minute of plank

1 minute wall sit [squatting against a wall with your thighs parallel to the ground.

Now a question for you, what does a typical workout week look like in your life?

xo Lauren

Author: ellepottsie

I'm a five foot three recent commerce graduate and marketing enthusiast. Recently I've noticed that life is a little different when you're closer to the ground, but maybe that is just my perspective!

2 thoughts on “A Week of Workouts in the Life of Ellepottsie

  1. Holy cow lady! You are intense! I prefer to work out every second day, taking a day off in between work outs, but I have sort of fallen off the workout bandwagon recently. I think it’s about time to jump back on!

    • Taking a day off in between workouts is probably a great idea! I just try to do different workouts on back to back days as much as possible so it feels like a day off 🙂 Maybe we will run by each other on the canal this summer!

      xo Lauren

Leave a Reply

