A 5'3 Perspective

Revlon Haute Tropics Nail Art and A Giveaway!!!

15 Comments

At the beginning of the week I teased you with a picture of my massive Revlon nail polish stash. That wasn’t fair of me – I’m sorry, but I promise I will make it all up to you today. Brace yourselves. Not only do I have a fun nail art manicure to share [and it isn’t even manicure Monday], I am also giving you a chance to win two bottles of Revlon polish from the limited edition Haute Tropics collection! I’ll get to the nitty gritty details on how to win after my review. I figure that it is best to let you know what I think of the product first.Haute Tropics RevlonRevlon’s Haute Tropics Nail Lacquer collection is comprised of eight vibrant, limited edition colours. I was lucky enough to receive four of the eight to test and share from the Revlon Canada team.

You probably know me well enough by now to understand that having four new polishes all at the same time makes me go nuts with anticipation. Clearly I wasn’t going to be able to wait and test out each different shade individually, so I decided to use them all together in one bright and colourful nail art manicure.

Four of the eight polishes that comprise the Revlon Haute Tropics Collection. From left to right: Coast Is Clear, Cabana Queen, Lagoon Afternoon and Belize, Please

Four of the eight polishes that comprise the Revlon Haute Tropics Collection. From left to right: Coast Is Clear, Cabana Queen, Lagoon Afternoon and Belize, Please

Cabana Queen was my favourite colour to apply. The formula was much thinner than most of the lacquer I am used to but it was so smooth. It is a light colour and needs at least three thin coats to ensure an opaque finish. This polish was especially quick drying and streak free. The colour is off white with a slight shimmer.

Lagoon Afternoon is a beautiful sky blue, turquoise color with a cream finish. I only needed two coats to achieve opacity. The formula was easy to apply and I noticed no streaking or bubbling.

Coast Is Clear reminds me a little of essie Turquoise and Caicos. The Revlon version has a bit more shimmer and I found it much easier to apply. The colour is slightly richer than the essie polish. Two coats would likely be enough, however, I added a third for good measure as I wasn’t pleased with the final texture of the second layer. This was the only colour that I tried from the Haute Tropics collection that had a bit of bubbling when dry. It isn’t very noticeable and it may be due to the fact that I rushed between coats. Either way, the colour is beautiful and the bubbles are so subtle that it doesn’t affect my decision to use this polish again.

Belize, Please is a hot pink cream polish. This is not a colour I would typically use on my nails [since I rarely wear pink – especially now that I have red hair] but I think it would look amazing as a pedicure. The colour was so rich that I probably could have gotten away with using just a single coat. I did end up using two though, typical. Belize, Please has a beautiful, smooth, eye-catching finish. I am almost sold on wear pink on my fingers. Almost.

All of the Revlon Haute Tropic polishes are Free of DBP, Toluene & Formaldehyde. while delivering a gorgeously smooth chip resistant color to nails which will last up to 7 days. I can’t vouch for the longevity of the polish since I rarely wear the same manicure for a week but I didn’t notice any major chipping at all which is great!

As I mentioned earlier, these polishes are limited edition and will only be available in stores for the next four weeks. I would highly recommend taking a trip to your local drug store to pick up a few of these eye-catching shades.Revlon Haute Tropics Nail Art Mani

Turns out my manicure matched Neil's outfit perfectly!

Turns out my manicure matched Neil’s outfit perfectly!

To create my nail art manicure, I combines the four colours in a jagged chevron pattern on my middle and ring finger. To achieve this look start by painting your nail with two base coats of Cabana Queen. Once the polish has dried completely, lightly colour jagged lines across your nail. Make sure you don’t have much polish on the brush before doing this step. Repeat with the remaining colours as many times as necessary to fill your nail. Make sure you leave a space to allow the base colour to show through. I followed the pattern of Lagoon Afternoon, Belize, Please, space (Cabana Queen shows through), and Coast Is Clear. I was able to repeat this sequence twice. Allow some time for drying and then apply a top coat – et voila. It looks a lot more difficult than it is, the jagged lines are very forgiving.

Now onto the first ever 5’3 Perspective Giveaway!

Here is what you need to do to have a chance to win:

1. Subscribe to my blog [just click follow me on the right hand side of the page – you may have to scroll up or down to find this button]

2. Follow me on Twitter

3. Tweet the following phrase and provide me with the link to your tweet:

“ Summer is here! Let’s celebrate with beautiful #HauteTropics @Revlon manicures and a giveaway! @ellepottsie http://ellepottsie.com/2013/06/19/revlon-haute-tropics-nail-polish-and-nail-art/ “

4. Comment with which two of the four colours I reviewed today you would want to win!

Leave a separate comment for each entry for a total of 4 entries! The contest will close Monday June 24th, at 11:59 PM and the winner will be announced Tuesday June 25th.

This contest is open to Canadian and US residents only.

Good luck friends!

xo Lauren

A sample of this product was sent to me for editorial purposes, either directly from the manufacturer or from the agency that works on behalf of the manufacturer. All reviews are the honest opinion of its author and editorial samples do not, in any way, affect the outcome of product reviews.
Author: ellepottsie

I'm a five foot three recent commerce graduate and marketing enthusiast. Recently I've noticed that life is a little different when you're closer to the ground, but maybe that is just my perspective!

15 thoughts on “Revlon Haute Tropics Nail Art and A Giveaway!!!

  1. 1. Officially following your blog!
    2. Following you on twitter already 🙂
    3.https://twitter.com/tori_love3/status/347382651054870528
    4. Coast is clear and lagoon afternoon!

  2. Pingback: Boyfriend Approved: Grain and Lactose Free Carob Chip Muffins | A 5'3 Perspective

  3. Pingback: Fabulous Finds Friday: The Romper | A 5'3 Perspective

  4. Belize Please and Coast is Clear! so pretty

  5. I now follow your blog. yay!!

  6. I also tweeted this giveaway. I mean a chance to score free nail polish? uhhh YAH!!

    • My thoughts exactly – when I hear free nail polish my ears perk up! What is not to love – I can’t believe I am sharing these and not hoarding them all for myself!

      xo Lauren

  7. I would likely choose cabana queen and coast is clear. they are all gorgeous but hot pink doesn’t flatter me and although lagoon afternoon is gorgeous, these types of blues make me look paler 😉

    jpinnick86 [at] gmail [dot] com

  8. Pingback: Manicure Monday: Pinky’s Nails in Toronto | A 5'3 Perspective

  9. Coast is clear & Cabana Queen 🙂

    i am in LOVE

Leave a Reply

