A 5'3 Perspective

A Recipe For Nanaimo Bars That Won’t Feel Guilty!

Leave a comment

During our east coast road trip we spent a bit of time talking about other places we had driven. While I am not a fan of long car rides, a few of the passengers I traveled with had racked up some significant miles on their wheels. As we discussed our drives east and west, one place kept popping back into my head – Nanaimo, British Columbia. While I’ve never been there and have no plans to visit anytime soon, I could not stop thinking about Nanaimo Bars and how much I used to enjoy them! I knew when I got home it would be the first recipe I would test. Lucky for me [and you – since I can share it] they turned out fabulously. Perhaps not truly a Nanaimo bar, the result is delicious, smooth and just sweet enough to keep you satisfied!

Healthy and Raw Nanaimo Bars

Inspired by: Damn My Health Healthy Nanaimo BarsIngredients

Crust:
1 Cup Walnuts
1/2 Cup Soaked Dates
1/2 Cup Unsweetened Shredded Coconut
1/4 Cup Cocoa Powder
Dash of Salt

Filling:
1/4 Cup Softened Coconut Oil
1/2 Cup Soaked Cashews
1 Full Dropper of Stevia
1/4 Cup Coconut Cream*
1/2 Tsp Vanilla Extract

Topping:
1/2 Cup Soaked Cashews
1/3 Cup Cocoa Powder
1/2 Cup Coconut Oil
1/4 Cup Honey

*To make coconut cream: refridgerate one can of coconut milk – once a layer has risen to the top, scoop it off and blend with 1 tsp of vanilla

Directions

Blend all of the crust ingredients in a food processor or blender until dough-like. Place in the bottom of 12 silicon muffin liners. I used two silicon muffins tins with 6 holes in each. If you don’t have silicon pans you will want to line each muffin hole with Saran Wrap, otherwise it will be near impossible to remove the finished product. Make sure you pat the crust down firmly.

Next add all of the filling ingredients and blend well until a uniform texture is achieved. You may need to stop and scrape down the sides a few times. Once the filling is well blended, spoon over the crust in the muffin tins.

Finally, blend [using your food processor or blender] all ingredients for the topping. It is okay if this layer is a bit crumbly. Spread evenly over the crust and filling mixtures.

Freeze for 3-4 hours and serve. These taste best when they have been thawed for about 5 minutes prior to eating. Store any leftovers in the freezer.

Thanks Nanaimo, BC,  for inspiring me to make such a delicious treat!

xo Lauren

Author: ellepottsie

I'm a five foot three recent commerce graduate and marketing enthusiast. Recently I've noticed that life is a little different when you're closer to the ground, but maybe that is just my perspective!

Leave a Reply

