A 5'3 Perspective

Too Faced Better Than False Lashes Product Review

4 Comments

It has been quite a while since I’ve done a product review. When life gets crazy, the first thing to fall by the wayside is new product purchases. But sometimes a beauty item pops up that I just can’t resist testing out – Too Faced: Better Than False Lashes was one of those must trys for me.

It is no surprise to anyone that I love mascara. When asked what my best physical feature is my response will always be my eyelashes. If I am given the chance to enhance them, you better believe I’ll say yes. So off I went to Sephora to get my hands on this nylon lash system. Too Faced Bettter Than False LashesThis product is like nothing I’ve ever seen before, it is a three step procedure that includes priming the lashes, adding the nylon fibers and then sealing them in. Fiberwig mascara is the most similar product I can think of since it adds “fibers” to the end of your lashes. In my opinion, the results are not even comparable – you can see my product review for those paint of false lashes here. Better Than False Lashes comes with two wands of mascara. The first is your seemingly typical black mascara, which applies nicely and doesn’t clump. You need to use this both to prime and to seal.

Left side has one coat of "step 1" mascara.

Left side has one coat of “step 1” mascara.

The second is this white, fluffy, cotton like substance. In all honesty I was a little reluctant to put this near my eyes – but I went ahead with it anyways, I mean what’s there to lose [other than my vision..]. All you need to do is apply it generously to your primed lashes – you will start to see the pieces of white fluff sticking to the ends.

Capturing the white fluff on camera is a challenge. If you look closely you can see a few pieces.

Capturing the white fluff on camera is a challenge. If you look closely you can see a few pieces.

The final step is to seal in the nylon fluff fibers using the black mascara [which is used to prime in step 1]. Although the directions don’t tell you how long you should wait for the nylon fluff to bond and stick, I usually wait about 30 seconds before applying the final sealing coat of mascara. I think that some of the fluff is picked up by the mascara wand when applying the top coat, but the majority of it does seem to stick to your lashes. You want to be generous with the product in this step but remember to take your time. If you rush you will end up with clumpy spider lashes.

Too Faced Better Than False Lashes (left) vs. natural (right)

Too Faced Better Than False Lashes (left) vs. natural (right)

One word of advice – do not use this system on your lower lashes – you will end up with a huge mess all over your face [yes, I tried]. Otherwise, this mascara is pretty fantastic. You will need to spend some extra time carefully applying each layer, but in the end the effort is worth the results – in my opinion. This system lasts all day for me [and depending how I sleep, I can sometimes get away with wearing it two days in row – BAD LAUREN]. I don’t notice any flaking during the day and the nylon fiber doesn’t irritate my eyes at all.

A rushed application job, but great results none the less.

A rushed application job, but great results none the less.

When it comes time to wash your face at night, any kind of eye make-up removal will do the trick to take this mascara off – a few swipes and your lashes will be bare.

I would highly recommend this product to anyone who wants extra length and doesn’t have the time to apply false lashes. If extra volume is what you crave, you will see a bit of enhancement with Too Faced Better Than False Lashes, but you’re probably better of using a regular mascara and lots of coats.

Hope this review helps!

xo Lauren

Author: ellepottsie

I'm a five foot three recent commerce graduate and marketing enthusiast. Recently I've noticed that life is a little different when you're closer to the ground, but maybe that is just my perspective!

4 thoughts on “Too Faced Better Than False Lashes Product Review

  1. Wow these are AMAZING results!!! I would be totally curious to see how big it made my lashes, but yours are so nice and long in the first place I’m not surprised it looks so great 🙂

    • I really think you’d like it! If you want to try it but aren’t sure about whether you want to keep it – Sephora has an amazing return policy. Keep your receipt and you can bring it back no questions asked.. and you’ll get a full refund!

      xo Lauren

  2. I will so be purchasing this ASAP! I love a good lengthening formula! Benefit’s They’re Real is my go to at the moment but Too Faced sounds like it might take T.R’s spot!!

    • I’m not a big fan of They’re Real because I find the formula a bit hard to work with. On the other hand though, the Too Faced Better Than False Lashes will take longer to apply than regular mascara. The extra few minutes is worth it though – in my opinion!

      xo Lauren

Leave a Reply

