A 5'3 Perspective

A Dainty Manicure And Revlon Nail Art Product Review

3 Comments

Something about long weekends make me want to get crazy with my manicures – this one was no exception. Lately I have become fond a different nail art patterns on each nail, instead of consistency. The more I repeat a design, the more frustrated I get when each nail doesn’t turn out exactly the same – this style of manicure gets rid of that issue entirely. manicure monday ellepottsieOn my pinky finger I used the waterless water marble technique, my index finger features the Saran wrap look, my ring finger shows off my new nail jewels and my middle finger and thumb are free-handed – using Revlon Nail Art polish.

A few weeks ago I received a package of lacquers from the lovely Revlon Canada Team to test out, which contained five nail art products, two from the Moon Candy line [which I reviewed here], one from the Neon collection [which feature a white base coat to enhance neon designs , and two Expressionist lacquers [which feature bold colours and a two step nail art system].

When I first opened the Expressionist and Neon polishes, I only looked at one side [side 1] which has a thick, regular brush for application. I couldn’t understand why these were called nail art polishes if the brushes weren’t thinner. Silly me – the polishes are meant to be used together and only one end is your nail art colour. The other end [side 2] has a long thin brush, absolutely perfect for creating elaborate designs – my mistake. Revlon Nail Art CollectionFor my manicure I used Pastel Punk and side 1 of Groovy Green [the white on my pinky]. The pink/purple base coast of the Pastel Punk lacquer is incredible, it paints on effortlessly and becomes almost completely opaque with just one coat. For my manicure I used two base coats. The white on the Groovy Green was another story. The application was very streaky and reminded me of my early teenage years when I used to paint my digits with whiteout in class. Even with three coats the colour looked chalky. I didn’t spend much time worrying because I was about to cover it with a water colour design, but I would try to apply a top coat to attempt to achieve a smoother finish if I were following it with the neon green featured in this duo. revlon nail art expressionistThe brush on side two made nail art a breeze and the polish formula is the perfect consistency to work with.

I love the concept of the Revlon Nail Art Collection. It is perfect for anyone who is new to nail art and doesn’t want to spend money on brush sets. The colours are vibrant and fun and the polish is high quality [with the exception of the white]. The biggest draw back is that you aren’t given the choice of which colour with be your nail art accent, it will always be side two. Keep that in mind when purchasing.

The Expressionist collection is my absolutely favourite and I can see using them non stop – for me, these are worth the price.

As always, if you’re wearing a fabulous manicure – send some pictures my way. I’m planning to do a reader manicure feature in the near future. Tag me in your mani pics on Instagram or Twitter.

xo Lauren

Thanks to the Revlon Canada team for sending me these products to try – I was under no obligation to write a review. All opinions are my honest thoughts and experiences.

Author: ellepottsie

I'm a five foot three recent commerce graduate and marketing enthusiast. Recently I've noticed that life is a little different when you're closer to the ground, but maybe that is just my perspective!

3 thoughts on “A Dainty Manicure And Revlon Nail Art Product Review

  1. Pingback: Laces in Neon Pink | The Nail Art and Beauty Diaries

  2. LOVE your nails! 🙂 When do you have an appt. available?? haha 🙂

  3. Pingback: Revlon’s Mani-Masterpiece Totalbeauty.com | nailsbychellz

Leave a Reply

