A 5'3 Perspective

Manicure Monday: Nails Inc Leather Effect Polish Review

1 Comment

When a unique polish is on sale, there is absolutely nothing I can do to help it from ending up in my shopping basket. This is exactly what happened with the Nails inc Leather Effect lacquer that became part of my collection this weekend. Although I had no intention of trying another textured formula since I am usually disappointed with the results, but when I saw the colour, I couldn’t say no.

Shoreditch Lane is a dark, vampy, mulberry hue that dries to a leather textured finish. In my opinion, the application is a little tedious. The formula seems to get tacky very quickly and it is hard to achieve a smooth look with each application. I had to use three coats to cover up the streaks. Although this quick dry factor is an issue when painting, it is also one of the best attributes of the polish when it comes to the post manicure waiting period. Nails Inc Leather Effect manicure monday ellepottsieThe texture is interesting, I suppose it feels like a rough leather, and the colour is beautiful and rich. In all honesty though, I just don’t love the look. It reminds me of the times I paint my nails right before bed and wake up with a bed sheet pattern embedded into my manicure. Without adding the gold pyramid studs, this mani was just plain boring… and looked like a bit of a mess.

As with all other textured polishes, it is recommended that you skip the top coat. I followed the instructions, however, the tips of my nails are really chipping badly, I’ll have to touch them up daily to keep my digits looking presentable and professional.

Would I recommend this polish? Probably not. If you love a textured manicure then perhaps you’ll like this look – but I have come to the realization that I’m more of a nail art gal [surprise, surprise].

As always, if you’re wearing a fabulous manicure – send some pictures my way. I’m planning to do a reader manicure feature in the near future. Tag me in your mani pics on Instagram or Twitter.

xo Lauren

Author: ellepottsie

I'm a five foot three recent commerce graduate and marketing enthusiast. Recently I've noticed that life is a little different when you're closer to the ground, but maybe that is just my perspective!

One thought on “Manicure Monday: Nails Inc Leather Effect Polish Review

  1. Pingback: Retro Floral Nails | Blondes Love Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

