A 5'3 Perspective

Manicure Monday – Dip Dye Tips

1 Comment

This weekend I treated myself to a few September fashion magazines. To my delight, beautiful nail art manicures were front and center in both issues, which left me no choice but to try one out. In Style featured a few do it yourself nail art instructionals using some of the best fall trends – so I happily obliged and gave one a try.Dip Dye TipsThe Dip-Dye Tips manicure featured both the negative space trend (as long as you use a nude base colour) and a deep blue ombre. You’ll need a makeup sponge, a pale or nude base colour , a deep blue and a top coat. I used Sephora by OPI Bare to Be Different as the neutral colour and OPI I Saw… You Saw… We Saw… Warsaw for the cobalt ombre effect. This manicure is fool proof as long as you follow a few easy steps.

Step 1: Prime your nail with a base coat – preferably a nail strengthener like OPI Nail Envy [product review here].
Step 2: Paint your nails completely using the nude/pink hue and allow it to dry completely.
Step 3: Using a makeup sponge, paint a layer of top coat on the tip and then follow with a layer of blue. Using the top coat first will dilute the colour which will give you the dip-dye look. Lightly dab the painted area on the sponge on your nail from the half way point to your tip, leave the cuticle area untouched. Allow your nails to dry completely before moving on to the next stage.
Step 4: Using a fresh makeup sponge [or the other side], paint the edge with blue polish and tab on the tip area of your nail to saturate the colour.
Step 5: Once the blue lacquer is completely dry, follow with a quick dry top coat to seal the manicure. I used essie good to go for this [product review here]. ellepottsie and In Style mani monday dip-dye tips manicureI am extremely happy with how this manicure turned out – it is very unique and intricate looking.

As always, if you’re wearing a fabulous manicure – send some pictures my way. I’d love to see how your rocking some of the new fall nail trends! Tag me in your mani pics on Instagram or Twitter.

xo Lauren

Author: ellepottsie

I'm a five foot three recent commerce graduate and marketing enthusiast. Recently I've noticed that life is a little different when you're closer to the ground, but maybe that is just my perspective!

One thought on “Manicure Monday – Dip Dye Tips

  1. I love it!! I totally tweeted the other manicure on the same page (it’s a lot simpler lol) because I want to do it myself. But my hand isn’t steady enough 😦

Leave a Reply

