A 5'3 Perspective


2 Comments

Manicure Monday: The Monika Chiang How To Edition

Remember when I posted my favourite Spring 2013 nail trends last week? Well I just couldn’t wait to try them out, so spring or not – here is my copy cat version of the nail art seen at Monika Chiang’s New York Fashion Week runway, plus a few pointers on how to get it right the first time [yes this took me two tries].

photo 3

I primed my nails with my favourite hardener, OPI Matte Nail Envy and then used “OPI On Collins Ave” and essie “No Place Like Chrome” and finished each nail off with a coat of OPI RapiDry.

ellepottsieessie and OPI ellepottsie

There are definitely a few ways to tackle this design, however, you’ll need to start by applying a base coat and at least two coats [I used three – because I’m obsessive] of OPI On Collins Ave. Seal with OPI RapiDry. Once your nails are completely dry, you can use scotch tape to make perfect lines, or you can free hand it – which is what did. If you are extremely particular, you can use a paint brush to get more control and thus straighter lines. I just used the polish brush.

In one smooth motion starting at the base of the nail, paint a straight line up to the end. The fewer the brush strokes, the more crisp and straight the line will be. Make sure you use the thin side of your nail brush instead of the thick. Also, make sure you don’t let the polish dry down from the applicator – you can see a drip forming in the picture on the right below.

Do not use the thick side as seen on the left. Turn the brush so it is thin as seen on the right.

Do not use the thick side as seen on the left. Turn the brush so it is thin as seen on the right.

This may seem silly but it makes a huge difference – here are pictures comparing attempt one, using the thicker side vs attempt two using the thin side.

Attempt Number One - using the thick edge of the brush.

Attempt Number One – using the thick edge of the brush.

Attempt Number Two - using the thinner edge of the brush.

Attempt Number Two – using the thinner edge of the brush.

You will only need to use one coat of essie “No Place Like Chrome” as it dries completely opaque. Once your nails have completely dried – finish with another top coat. I used essie No Chips Ahead.

Although this manicure was a bit time consuming [due entirely to the fact that I had to restart completely], I love the way it looks.

Do you have a great manicure today? Upload a pic and tag me (twitter or instagram) in it so I can see what you’re rocking on your nails!

xo Lauren