A 5'3 Perspective


1 Comment

Ask A Beauty Blogger: Sharing My Everyday Makeup Routine

Ask A Beauty BloggerIn all honesty, I never expected to be asked this question – but I am always happy and willing to share.

ellepottsie beauty routine

When it comes to my regular beauty routine – I try to keep things simple and natural. I can easily get ready for the day in under 15 minutes. Anything longer is too much of a chore for me to do before work.

ellpottsie makeup routineI am definitely a creature of habit and typically stick to specific products that I find work best for me.

Step 1: After washing my face I lather on a generous layer of moisturizer. Currently I am using First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Cream which helps with dry, parched skin. To be honest – I am not in love with it and likely won’t repurchase, I am pretty sure it is aggravating my skin and making me break out. I am going to continue using it for a few more weeks to see if my skin just needs to get used to it.

Step 2: Conceal any and all imperfections. I use [and absolutely love the coverage] CoverFX Cream Concealer. It comes in a wide variety of tones and shades with options for very pale and very dark skin. I always use my finger to stipple the concealer to build up the coverage. If you aren’t sure how to stipple click here to learn more. Depending on the condition of my skin I often don’t use any other face products. If my skin is uneven I will use CoverFX Pressed Mineral Foundation – for full coverage, or Smashbox Camera Ready BB Cream – for a lighter look (which I reviewed here).

Step 3: Contour. To me, this is an essential part of my routine. All the steps I use were outlined in a previous Ask A Beauty Blogger post, along with a diagram – just click here for the details. The products I use are; bareMinerals All Over Face Colour in warmth (for bronzing) using the Sephora #49 angled brush, Benefit high beam illuminator, and bareMinerals blush in laughter (which is unfortunately no longer available).

Step 4: Tame your brows. Since I have quite full brows I use a clear brow gel to keep everything in place. A good professional brow shaping will have a huge impact on your overall look – personally I find threading gives me the best shape and lasts longest.

Step 5: Get friendly with your mascara – seriously. For daytime makeup, I don’t curl my lashes – just a personal preference – but I do use at least two [and three and four] coats of Givenchy Noir Couture mascara (reviewed here). Allow your lashes to dry between each layer and make sure you take your time separating and coating each one. This is probably the longest part of my routine.

Step 6: Swipe your lips with a clear lip balm and get on with you day. Rosebud Salve has always been my go to as it is long lasting and prevents chapping.

Easy peasy, right?

If you’d like your question answered next week, head over here to send me a request.

xo Lauren