A 5'3 Perspective


2 Comments

Manicure Monday – Snow White-Out Meets Two Tone

A few months ago I wrote a post about my favourite Spring 2013 nail looks. Two of the trends I had been waiting to try were the Snow White-Out and the neutral two tone mani. Since spring is finally here I figured it would be an ideal time to rock these looks – but which one should I do first? Obviously I could’t make up my mind and choose just one, so I decided to combine the two! I think it looks pretty awesome – keep reading and you can let me know if you agree.

OPI Steady As She Rose and essie Marshmellow

 Following my usual routine, I used two coats of nail envy as a base and then painted my nails with three coats of essie Marshmallow. I found this colour to be quite sheer and streaky, however, it did build well and after the third layer it was completely opaque. Next I free handed the outer half of my nail with OPI Steady As She Rose. Since I was layering over white it was very easy to get full coverage. I did apply two coats just to ensure that the base didn’t peek through. If you don’t want to free hand your design, you can use scotch tape to cover the inner half of your nail. I find it quicker to skip that step though – I get frustrated with the tape. My advice for attacking a free hand manicure – use the brush to your advantage, try to move it smoothly up your nail without lifting it and don’t even think about dabbing the polish, that is when you end up with jagged, uneven lines. It does take patience and practice but if I can do it – anyone can! To finish your manicure, wait about five minutes for the colours to set and then apply two coats of essie good to go [or whichever top coat you favour].

So here it is – Snow White-Out meets Two Tone:

Manicure MondaySnow White Meets Two Tone

Hope you like it – until next Monday my friends!

xo Lauren